Mexico National Football Team, World Cup 2018


The Mexican national team is the most successful team in the CONCACAF region having won seven CONCACAF Gold Cups and three CONCACAF Championships. The team has also won three North American Nations Cups and one CONCACAF Cup. FIFA has ranked the country in 16th position.

Representing Mexico, the team is controlled by the Mexican Football Federation (Spanish: Federación Mexicana de Fútbol). The Mexico national team, along with Brazil and Germany, are the only nations that made their appearances over the last six World Cups.

Juan Carlos Osorio, The Head Coach

The team is currently managed by the head coach, Juan Carlos Osorio. He was named as the new manager of the team in October 2015. He is a former Colombian player who made his debut in 1982 with Deportivo Pereira.

Nicknamed El Recreacionista, for his unorthodox training methods, Osorio has worked as an a s sistant coach. He started his coaching career with Millonarios in 2006. He has managed Major League Soccer teams Chicago Fire and New York Red Bulls, Once Caldas, and Atlético Nacional before joining the Spanish national team.

Hirving Lozano

Mexican professional, Hirving Lozano plays as a winger for Dutch club, PSV Eindhoven, and the Mexico national team. He signed the six-year contract with the club in June 2017. He is popular by his nickname, Chucky.  

Lozano has won Liga MX: Clausura 2016 and CONCACAF Champions League: 2016–17 with the club Pachuca. He joined the club in 2009 as part of its youth team. Lozano applied a bullet header to Jesus Corona’s well-worked cross, leading the team to victory in the qualifier match against Panama.

Javier Hernández

Javier Hernández, a Mexican professional player commonly known by his nickname Chicharito, plays as a striker for the Mexico national team and the English club West Ham United.

Started his career in 2006, playing for the Mexican club Guadalajara, Hernández is the first Mexican player to join Manchester United. He joined the club in July 2010.

All-time leading goal scorer, Hernández has represented Mexico at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup, the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup, the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the Copa América Centenario and the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Hernández was named the most valuable player of the tournament, Gold Cup 2011, and was the top scorer with seven goals.

Here's the list of Mexico's 23-man squad heading to World Cup 2018.

Goalkeepers Defenders Midefielders Forwards
Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liege), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul) Diego Reyes (Porto), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt), Hector Moreno (Real Sociedad), Miguel Layun (Sevilla), Jesus Gallardo (Pumas), Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL), Edson Alvarez (Club America) Hector Herrera (Porto), Andres Guardado (Real Betis), Rafa Marquez (Atlas), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Marco Fabian (Eintracht Frankfurt), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy) Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Jesus Corona (Porto), Raul Jimenez (Benfica), Oribe Peralta (Club America), Javier Hernandez (West Ham United), Carlos Vela (LAFC), Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven)

FIFA World Cup 2018

Mexico made their FIFA debut in 1930 and has made 15 appearances to date. Mexico has been qualified to the 2018 World Cup making a 1-0 victory over Panama in September 2017.

Mexico played against Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago, Honduras, and Panama at the World Cup 2018 qualification match making the victory over the teams. The team lost to Honduras in the October 10th qualification match and tied in the match against the United States and Costa Rica.

Mexico will be playing the matches against Germany, Korea Republic, and Sweden in the second edition of the tournament, FIFA World 2018.

Have a look at this World Cup Schedule for more information about the groups and matches.


15 Jun, 2018 Who Will Win Iran Or Morocco? Possible Line Up And And Players To Watch

The third game of the FIFA World Cup 2018 starts at 4 pm BST at Zenit Stadium, Siant Petersburg. It is the first time these teams are going head to head in the World Cup. Their last game against each other ended in a draw. So what to expect from this match? Who will rise victorious? Here is what we think.

14 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Opening Ceremony

The 21st edition of World Cup is all set to start in few hours. The biggest sporting carnival on the planet is all set to kick-start today at Luzhniki stadium.

14 Jun, 2018 Opening Match Of FIFA World Cup 2018: Russia V. Saudi Arabia

The wait is finally over for all the football fans as today 14th June 2018 marks the start of the FIFA World Cup 2018 hosted by Russia. It is the 22nd FIFA World Cup and the tournament will kick off with the host, Russia facing Saudi Arabia. So, lets get some insight into today's match along with the possible line up, game result prediction and the players to watch out.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Ten Best Players To Watch In Russia Leaving Ronaldo and Messi

With the World Cup less than a week, the countdown continues for the biggest sporting event on the planet. But before the start of the journey to the biggest glory, let’s break down the players you, the soccer fans, should be keeping an eye on.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Five Youngest Players To Watch In The Russia

Every World Cup have seen young talents showcasing their unique skills, talents that have amazed the people across the globe.

25 May, 2018 Ten Highest Paid Coaches To Look Out At The 2018 World Cup

List of ten highest paid coaches to look out at the 2018 World Cup, Russia. Oscar Tabarez has been managing the team since 1980.