Japan National Football Team, World Cup 2018


The Japan national football team (???????? Sakk? Nippon Daihy?) is operated by Japan Football Association. The national squad represents Japan in a s sociation football and is one of the successful teams in Asia having qualified for the last six consecutive World Cups.

Japan has won four AFC Asian Cup titles in 1992, 2000, 2004, and 2011. Japan is the only team outside of America to participate in Copa América.

Yasuhito End? is the most capped player on the team with 152 caps and Kunishige Kamamoto is the top scorer with 80 goals.

Akira Nishino, The Coach

CAPTION: Akira Nishino SOURCE: zimbio

The national team is currently managed by the coach, Akira Nishino. He has managed other teams including Japan U20, Japan U23, and Kashiwa Reysol.

Achievements and Honors

As a Manager

Kawashiwa Reysol

  • League Cup (1): 1999

Gamba Osaka

  • J1 League (1): 2005

Emperor's Cup (2): 2008, 2009

  • League Cup (1): 2007
  • Japanese Super Cup (1): 2007
  • AFC Champions League (1): 2008


  • Japan Soccer League Best Eleven (1): 1985-86
  • League Manager of the Year (2): 2000, 2005
  • AFC Coach of the Year (1): 2008

Makoto Hasebe

A defensive midfielder, Makoto Hasebe currently plays for Bundesliga club, Eintracht Frankfurt, and captains the Japanese national squad. He has played other teams like Urawa Red Diamonds, VfL Wolfsburg, FC Nürnberg.  

CAPTION: Makoto Hasebe SOURCE: The Japan Times

Hasebe was honored with the J. League Cup New Hero Award and selected as a member of J. League team of the year in 2004.

Achievements and Honors

  • AFC Asian Cup: 2011
  • Kirin Cup: 2008, 2009, 2011

Urawa Red Diamonds

  • AFC Champions League: 2007
  • League Division 1: 2006
  • League Division 1 2nd Stage: 2004
  • Emperor's Cup: 2005, 2006
  • League Cup: 2003
  • Japanese Super Cup: 2006

VfL Wolfsburg

  • Bundesliga: 2008–09


  • League Best XI: 2004
  • League Cup New Hero Award: 2004
  • AFC Asian Cup Team of the Tournament: 2011
  • Asia's Bests: 2011

Here's the list of Japan's 23-man squad for the 2018 World Cup.

Goalkeepers Defenders Midfielders Forwards
Eiji Kawashima (Metz), Masaaki Higashiguchi (Gamba Osaka), Kosuke Nakamura (Kashiwa Reysol) Yuto Nagatomo (Galatasaray), Tomoaki Makino (Urawa Reds), Wataru Endo (Urawa Reds), Maya Yoshida (Southampton), Hiroki Sakai (Marseille), Gotoku Sakai (Hamburg), Gen Shoji (Kashima Antlers), Naomichi Ueda (Kashima Antlers) Makoto Hasebe (Eintracht Frankfurt), Keisuke Honda (Pachuca), Takashi Inui (Eibar), Shinji Kagawa (Borussia Dortmund), Hotaru Yamaguchi (Cerezo Osaka), Genki Haraguchi (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Takashi Usami (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Gaku Shibasaki (Getafe), Ryota Oshima (Kawasaki Frontale) Shinji Okazaki (Leicester), Yuya Osako (Werder Bremen), Yoshinori Muto (Mainz)

World Cup 2018

Japan has made 5 appearances in FIFA and has booked their spot to Russia in 2018, after a 2-0 victory against Australia on March 31, 2017.

Japan will be having their matches against Colombia, Senegal, and Poland in the second edition of the tournament, World Cup 2018.

Also look at this World Cup Schedule for more details about the matches.


15 Jun, 2018 Who Will Win Iran Or Morocco? Possible Line Up And And Players To Watch

The third game of the FIFA World Cup 2018 starts at 4 pm BST at Zenit Stadium, Siant Petersburg. It is the first time these teams are going head to head in the World Cup. Their last game against each other ended in a draw. So what to expect from this match? Who will rise victorious? Here is what we think.

14 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Opening Ceremony

The 21st edition of World Cup is all set to start in few hours. The biggest sporting carnival on the planet is all set to kick-start today at Luzhniki stadium.

14 Jun, 2018 Opening Match Of FIFA World Cup 2018: Russia V. Saudi Arabia

The wait is finally over for all the football fans as today 14th June 2018 marks the start of the FIFA World Cup 2018 hosted by Russia. It is the 22nd FIFA World Cup and the tournament will kick off with the host, Russia facing Saudi Arabia. So, lets get some insight into today's match along with the possible line up, game result prediction and the players to watch out.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Ten Best Players To Watch In Russia Leaving Ronaldo and Messi

With the World Cup less than a week, the countdown continues for the biggest sporting event on the planet. But before the start of the journey to the biggest glory, let’s break down the players you, the soccer fans, should be keeping an eye on.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Five Youngest Players To Watch In The Russia

Every World Cup have seen young talents showcasing their unique skills, talents that have amazed the people across the globe.

25 May, 2018 Ten Highest Paid Coaches To Look Out At The 2018 World Cup

List of ten highest paid coaches to look out at the 2018 World Cup, Russia. Oscar Tabarez has been managing the team since 1980.