World Cup Golden Glove Winners

Sports by Published on Updated on 06 May, 2018

The Golden Glove Award is awarded to the best goalkeeper of the tournament. The award was first introduced in 1994, with the name Lev Yashin Award, in honor of the late Soviet goalkeeper.

The top goalkeeper of the tournament is declared by The FIFA Technical Study based on the performance throughout the final competition.

Goalkeepers are also eligible for Golden Ball Award though they have the specific award for their position.

CAPTION: Michel Preud'homme, World Cup 1994 SOURCE: About Football

The Golden Glove Award (Yashin Award) was first awarded in 1994 to a Belgian professional goalkeeper, Michel Preud'homme.

CAPTION: Iker Casillas SOURCE:

Spanish goalkeeper, Iker Casillas won the Golden Glove Award in the 2010 World Cup and German goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer won the Golden glove in 2014 World Cup.


History of the best goalkeepers

World Cup

Goalkeeper(s) included in the All-Star Team

1930 Uruguay

  Enrique Ballestrero

1934 Italy

  Ricardo Zamora

1938 France

  František Pláni?ka

1950 Brazil

  Roque Máspoli

1954 Switzerland

  Gyula Grosics

1958 Sweden

  Harry Gregg

1962 Chile

  Viliam Schrojf

1966 England

  Gordon Banks

1970 Mexico

  Ladislao Mazurkiewicz

1974 West Germany

  Sepp Maier

1978 Argentina

  Ubaldo Fillol

1982 Spain

  Dino Zoff

1986 Mexico

  Jean-Marie Pfaff

1990 Italy

  Luis Gabelo Conejo

The Yashin Award was first awarded in 1994.

World Cup

Yashin Award winner

1994 United States

  Michel Preud'homme

1998 France

  Fabien Barthez

2002 Korea/Japan

  Oliver Kahn

2006 Germany

  Gianluigi Buffon

The award was renamed to Golden Glove Award in 2010.

World Cup

Golden Glove Award winner

2010 South Africa

 Iker Casillas

2014 Brazil

 Manuel Neuer

World Cup 2018

World Cup 2018, that is going to be held in Russia has created more expectations among the fans. All the qualified teams are being ready for their first stage match. The competition is going to be tough as there are best players on every team.