World Cup Golden Ball Winners

Among many other awards in FIFA, Golden Ball is one of the major awards in the history of the World Cup.

In 1930, only titles were given to the players as Best Player, 2nd Best Player, and 3rd Best Player. Uruguayan player, José Nasazzi was first to gain the title as the Best Player in the 1930 World Cup.

CAPTION: Paolo Rossi SOURCE: Pinterest

Italian professional, Paolo Rossi first gained the Golden Ball followed by Diego Maradona (1986), and Salvatore Schillaci (1990).

Argentine professional player, Messi earned the Golden Ball in the 2014 World Cup. Thomas Müller, a German professional forward, earned the silver ball during the season.

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player at each World Cup finals. The award is declared with a shortlist drawn up by the FIFA technical committee and the winner voted for by representatives of the media.

The award was first introduced in the 1982 World Cup, sponsored by Adidas and France Football (weekly magazine).

Adidas Golden Ball

World Cup

Golden Ball

Silver Ball

Bronze Ball

1982 Spain

  Paolo Rossi


  Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

1986 Mexico

  Diego Maradona

  Harald Schumacher

  Preben Elkjær Larsen

1990 Italy

  Salvatore Schillaci

  Lothar Matthäus

  Diego Maradona

1994 United States


  Roberto Baggio

  Hristo Stoichkov

1998 France


  Davor Šuker

  Lilian Thuram

2002 Korea/Japan

  Oliver Kahn


  Hong Myung-bo

2006 Germany

  Zinedine Zidane

  Fabio Cannavaro

  Andrea Pirlo

2010 South Africa

  Diego Forlán

  Wesley Sneijder

  David Villa

2014 Brazil

  Lionel Messi

  Thomas Müller

  Arjen Robben

FC Barcelona is the club with the most players that have won the Golden Ball. Johan Cruyff - 1974, Romário - 1994, Lionel Messi – 2014 won the Golden Ball from Barcelona.


15 Jun, 2018 Who Will Win Iran Or Morocco? Possible Line Up And And Players To Watch

The third game of the FIFA World Cup 2018 starts at 4 pm BST at Zenit Stadium, Siant Petersburg. It is the first time these teams are going head to head in the World Cup. Their last game against each other ended in a draw. So what to expect from this match? Who will rise victorious? Here is what we think.

14 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Opening Ceremony

The 21st edition of World Cup is all set to start in few hours. The biggest sporting carnival on the planet is all set to kick-start today at Luzhniki stadium.

14 Jun, 2018 Opening Match Of FIFA World Cup 2018: Russia V. Saudi Arabia

The wait is finally over for all the football fans as today 14th June 2018 marks the start of the FIFA World Cup 2018 hosted by Russia. It is the 22nd FIFA World Cup and the tournament will kick off with the host, Russia facing Saudi Arabia. So, lets get some insight into today's match along with the possible line up, game result prediction and the players to watch out.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Ten Best Players To Watch In Russia Leaving Ronaldo and Messi

With the World Cup less than a week, the countdown continues for the biggest sporting event on the planet. But before the start of the journey to the biggest glory, let’s break down the players you, the soccer fans, should be keeping an eye on.

09 Jun, 2018 World Cup 2018: Five Youngest Players To Watch In The Russia

Every World Cup have seen young talents showcasing their unique skills, talents that have amazed the people across the globe.

25 May, 2018 Ten Highest Paid Coaches To Look Out At The 2018 World Cup

List of ten highest paid coaches to look out at the 2018 World Cup, Russia. Oscar Tabarez has been managing the team since 1980.