European Championship

European Championship is popularly known as UEFA European Championship which is the primary association football competition for the Men’s National teams of the member nations of Union of European Football Association (UEFA). UEFA was established in 1960 and held in every four year intervals. It is the second most loved and watched football competition in the world after FIFA World Cup. The UEFA Championship is hosted in Europe by the UEFA’s member states which is done on voting system based on bids. The 2016 UEFA Championship is going to be held in France. It will be its third time hosting the Championship competition. There have been 14 UEFA Championship tournaments won by nine different teams. So far, Germany and Spain are making the lead winning it for the three times followed by France, two times and then Soviet Union, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Denmark and Greece. The most recent UEFA Championship Tournament was co-hosted by Poland and Ukraine. The Championship Cup was won by Spain. In UEFA, host nation qualifies automatically in the Tournament but other teams have to go through the qualifying process. There are 53 qualifiers team in UEFA Championship Tournament among which only 24 teams are able to enter in the finals from 2016 as a new rule but before until now it had been the 16 teams to go for UEFA Championship finals.